Protecting Fingers

While learning to navigate around indoors with Orientation and Mobility lessons, my instructor shared many techniques to make things easier. One of the items dealt with safety.

“If you need to trail along a wall with your hand or reach out for something, don’t put your fingers straight out,” he said, motioning along the hallway with his hand. “Curl your fingers a bit, so if you come across something unexpected, you don’t hurt yourself. Your fingers are important tools.”

I thought about how annoying it is when I injure a finger. It decreases the information I am receiving about the world around me.

I tried it out. I trailed my hand along one of my hallways. When I reached the moulding around a doorway, my fingers were not bent back or jammed; they curled inward as designed by their articulation. It works.

The next time you get up in the middle of the night for something whether you are sighted or not, let your searching fingers stay a bit curled instead of extended. I hope it saves you the hassle of a cut or bruise in the future.

Now, if I could only figure out a way to avoid paper cuts.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Trisha says:

    Keeping your fingers curled in seems like common sense -yet it never occurred to me!

    1. Trisha: I know, right! So glad I was shown it.

  2. Oh I don’t think I do that, going to implement this tip. Thank you for sharing! I’m having to rest my eyes a bit more after an unexpected scare last week, so tips like these are great. Hope you are well. x

    1. Lucent: Glad to see you. You’re welcome. I hope the resting is helping you and your eyes.

Leave a Reply

