Quick Q&A | John of A Blind Man’s Journey

The Quick Q&A series continues here on Adventures in Low Vision in the spirit of Blindness Awareness Month. Don’t miss a post–subscribe on the right sidebar.

Today, meet John, the writer of the blog A Blind Man’s Journey.

Photo of JohnQ: Name/Region

A: John, Durham North Carolina

 

Q: Describe your visual impairment in one sentence.

A: I am totally blind and have been since birth.

 

Q: How do you want others to refer to your vision loss?

A: I am fine with “Blind”.

 

Q: Why did you start blogging?

A: I have really been blogging since before the platform existed, keeping a journal of my life as it unfolded. I really got into it in 2006 though, as I had to adjust to hearing loss and the acquisition of hearing aids. The support I got in comments spurred me on.

 

Q: How do you write your posts?

A: Primarily on the PC, nowadays via WordPress. I have posted some using the iOS app, but this is slower and more of a challenge. It would be easier if the Braille display I have, a Brailliant BI 40, worked better with my phone, but it locks up frequently.

 

Q: What do you enjoy reading?

A: I read a little of everything, but most enjoy contemporary fiction. Have read a lot of science fiction this year, though. I’m embarking on a 50-book, 50-author challenge this year, and am thus far on pace. Trying to diversify my reads by taking in some nonfiction memoirs and biographies as well.

 

Q: What advice would you give to someone experiencing vision loss?

A: Take advantage of the vastly changed landscape of social media if you are able to do so. There are many of us who are totally blind or low vision who can help with questions and suggestions based on your particular set of experiences.

 

Q: Recommend a resource for people directly or indirectly experiencing vision loss.

A: One that will probably be recommended repeatedly is visionaware.org . Also try googling your state name and Services for the Blind, or some such combo, as rehab agencies exist throughout the country that can provide helpful information and assistance. I don’t know as much about international resources.

 

Q: What’s your favorite dessert?

A: Dessert? I’ll eat nearly anything! I guess I’d say it’s a toss-up between pecan pie and chocolate cake.

 

Q: What can you not get enough of lately?

A: I’m an NPR junkie, still pondering whether it would be possible for me to work for them in some capacity in fact. I also love sports, and the fact that I can use my iPhone to tune in to nearly any team’s broadcast I can think of.

 

Q: How can people connect with you besides your blog?

Twitter: @BlindTravel

Facebook: facebook.com/johnmill79

Email: johnmill79 AT gmail.com

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I am enjoying your Q+A series…what a great idea! I like learning about others’ blogs… thanks!

    1. Thanks! I love a good interview so I figured why not pull together a few voices from the VI community for a series during Blindness Awareness Month.

  2. Casee says:

    I have been loving this series and I am really finding new bloggers to follow. Thank you so much!

    1. Most welcome, Casee. And there’s more to come!

Leave a Reply

