Agents of Change

Photo shows women putting their hands in the middle with a red transparent square on the lower half of the photo that reads Agents of Change, learn how you can empower blind women today.Hey Everyone,

I’m going to be straightforward. Last month, I started working on a project I care about deeply. And I’m going to need your help for it to be effective. At times it’s hard to speak up and ask for things, but we can’t do it all alone.

Remember that therapeutic retreat for women living with blindness I attended last year, the one I wrote about passionately because it was a life-changing experience? Well, additional programs through the Oasis Center for Hope (OCH), a nonprofit organization, are available this summer. I chose to make some tough decisions and scrutinize my priorities in order to sign up.

I know it’s not easy to balance family, work, and other obligations. When you’re living with a disability, it’s vital to have peer support as you meet challenges. The retreats the OCH team coordinate offer peer connection, empowerment, and coping tools. Every woman who attends these dynamic programs discovers ways to wholeheartedly live a meaningful life. Her personal and professional relationships benefit. The positive change lasts and spreads. From my personal experience, I know this much is true.

My dream is to help women with blindness face challenges together. That’s why I helped create the Rising Strong Scholarship Fund. It will minimize financial barriers and will allow more women to attend retreats this year and for years to come.

Today, you can support and empower blind women, too. Will you help me? Learn more about OCH and how you can contribute and share this amazing movement HERE.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
~Susan

5 Comments Add yours

  1. herheadache says:

    Reblogged this on Her Headache and commented:
    I can’t think of a more perfect thing to share on #WhiteCaneWeek this month.

    1. Thanks, Kerry! Really appreciate your help.

      1. herheadache says:

        No problem. This sounds like such a great thing.

  2. Excellent project. I look forward to hearing of your progress and wish you all the best.

Leave a Reply

